CEU: Electrical Training Continuing Education
Home / Resources / CEU

Electrical Training Continuing Education

CEUs for Electrical Training

Do you need to complete continuing education hours for a state electrical license?

All of the states have very different CEU requirements. They vary in terms of the number of hours you need to complete, which courses qualify, how many credits are given and whether instructors need separate approval. In some states, no continuing education is needed at all.

There are also different methods of assigning credit. Many boards require us, as the course provider, to verify your attendance, and others simply require that you receive a certificate of completion.

Below you will find links to the web pages at each state’s electrical licensing board that answer these questions.

Page Sections

State Electrical Boards
Engineering Continuing Education
Professional Association Continuing Education

State Electrical Boards

* States that have one or more e-Hazard courses approved for continuing education credit. For information about e-Hazard courses’ eligibility for credit, please see the Continuing Education Credits heading on the training page for the type of course you need (e.g., Low Voltage, High Voltage, NEC, etc.)

* Alabama (Electrical)

* Alabama (HVAC)

* Alaska

Arizona (no state CEU requirement)


California (for contractors)

California (no state CEU requirement)

* Colorado


* Delaware

* Florida



* Idaho

Illinois (no state licensing requirement; check local area)

Indiana (no state licensing requirement for electricians; check local area)


Kansas (no state licensing for electricians; check local area)

* Kentucky

* Louisiana (for residential building contractors)


* Maryland

* Massachusetts

* Michigan



Missouri (no state licensing for electricians; check local area)

* Montana

* Nebraska

Nevada (no state CEU requirement)

New Hampshire

* New Jersey

* New Mexico

New York (no state licensing for electricians; check local area)

* North Carolina

* North Dakota

* Ohio (Construction Industry Licensing Board)

* Ohio (Board of Building Standards)


* Oregon

Pennsylvania (no state licensing for electricians; check local area)

Rhode Island

South Carolina (no state CEU requirement)

* South Dakota

Tennessee (no state CEU requirement)


* Utah



* Washington

West Virginia (no state CEU requirements)

* Wisconsin

* Wyoming

Engineering Continuing Education

The majority of state engineering boards do not pre-approve continuing education courses. Usually the CE process is self-directed, meaning that the student chooses an education activity, records it on a form provided by the board, retains the certificate of completion and submits it when (or if) the board requests it.

Some states do pre-approve courses; for example, Indiana and Maryland have approved e-Hazard courses for professional development hours for engineers.

A list of the states and links to their engineering boards follows:

Professional Association Continuing Education

There are many organizations which license or certify electricians and engineers. Some which accept e-Hazard courses for their continuing education requirements include BICSI, NETA, and the NFPA CESCP certification. For many organizations, the course does not need to be pre-approved, but can be submitted for continuing education hours after completion.

Contact your certifying body’s administrator to find out what education is accepted and how to receive credit.

Subscribe to ArcNews

The industry's most popular newsletter on arc flash and electrical safety. Our newsletter reaches more readers than most professional safety magazines. Sign up and see why.

Arc Flash Resources